Ready to take off

25Feeling a bit better today, so I got around making a few renders for the sheppard.Holy crap, making a short video at 60 fps takes really long.

 

Things I learned while making this ship:

  1. Volumes of bigger models get huge really fast. That’s the reason why it comes in several parts. Next time I design something this big I need to plan material reducing tricks ahead of modelling.
  2. even if Shapeways has no problems with the parts of the model, as soon as I put it together it starts finding faults where none were before.
  3. I need more ram, 4 gig are not enough. It’s ok for working in parts, but once the parts come together everything starts to lag.

Next up is the Tau transport ship, but first I’ll try to fight off my Flu and rest a bit.

Leave a Reply

